The Indy Jamma Jones Interview | S1 Retro Lifer Roller Skate Helmet

The Indy Jamma Jones

What year were you born and where did you live?

I was born in 1991 in Houston, Texas. We lived in Pearland, AKA Land of the Pears. I went to Austin for college and lived there for five years

Tell me your skate story – when you started skating, different phases, what influences or memories you have.

My grandmother tells me stories of skating in the street until her metal wheels fell off the hubs. My first memories in the rink were watching my mom skate backwards wishing that one day I would be able to glide like her. I guess you can say it ran in the family. Aside from a couple visits to Pearwood Skate Rink every year, my time on wheels was spent during summer in the street with my friends making up dances to our favorite B*Witched songs. When I was sixteen I got a job as a skating car hop at Sonic, it was the closest thing to a dream job I could imagine (making limades and skating all the time? yes please) and it did not disappoint. I still daydream about going back to the simplicity of those summer days as a car hop *sigh* When I retired from gymnastics at 21 I joined the O.G. banked track roller derby league TXRD. We played with a penalty wheel, pillow fights, and a loud crazy audience. This is where I became Indy Jamma Jones and learned the ways of derby girls. It wasn't long before I was doing handstands and mixing my gymnastics tricks with my skating during bouts. When I discovered ramp skating I was hooked and started traveling to teach as many people how to skate as possible. Eventually I made it my mission to make videos to educate and empower new skaters. I called it Planet Roller Skate and the rest is history!

What have you been up to lately?

I've been in the matrix learning everything I can about successful "content creation" and building our online shop for Planet Roller Skate. We've been growing so much and I'm learning a ton about running and maintaining a successful business. Every once in a while I emerge to skate and film an episode.

And what are your TOP 3:

Top 3 Foods: Cheese, sauces (especially of the Tex-Mex liquid queso variety), and things you can dip in sauces.

Top 3 Bands/Artists: Beyonce, Gaga, and love me some Grimes. Also been loving Alicia Keys, Miley, Kacey Musgraves, Billie Eilish, Janelle Monae, Lord Huron, Alt-J, Grouplove, and soooo many more.

Top 3 Things your excited / passionate about: Cuddling my doggo Juniper, summertime, and my new van.

Top 3 Activities: Top 3 Activities I Enjoy = jumping on trampolines, swinging on swings, and flying my kite with skates on my feet. Top 3 Activities I actually spend my time doing = streaming content, editing content, and sleeping.

Top 3 People: My Mom, You, Your Mom (plz don't be offended, sry I'm 10)

Top 3 Memories: Ten years old, putting my skates on during a hurricane and getting pulled in the wind with an umbrella I was holding. As a student, spending five years at the UT School of Architecture in Austin. As an adult, spending summer weeks at Woodward West coaching gymnastics and skating my heart out.

Top 3 Dreams or goals: Have a family, go kite surfing, and never stop moving.

Top 3 Books: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban :D

Top 3 Movies: Signs, Spirited Away, and I love me some Pirates of the Caribbean

Top 3 Places you have traveled to: Berlin, Barcelona, New York City

Top 3 Places you want to travel to: Bondi Beach, Japan, Maldives

Check Indy out: @indyjammajones and @planetrollerskate

Check Retro Lifers here.